Mad about Mad Men

6 Dec

mad_men_fb_cover_photo_by_chadski51-d4jrt3g

I’ve just finished watching Season 6 of Mad Men. I know, I am a little bit behind on it but it is not too late to enjoy a great show.

I have to admit: I am a huge Mad Men fan but it took me some time to become one. Of course, I had heard a lot about it from my PR&Marketing friends but for some reason never gave it a try. Then I saw it on the plane. It was some episode from Season 2 or 3. I left me wondering why everyone was so crazy about the show.

Until last summer. I was browsing Netflix looking for something to watch and all of a sudden thought about Mad Men. Season 1/Episode 1, and I was totally hocked. To understand Mad Men, you need to start from the very beginning and see how the characters are developing through time.

I can go on and go explaining why I love the show: great writing, good acting, fantastic sets and amazing fashion. No doubt, many viewers watch it for that special 60’s allure. It is there, and retro has never looked better on the small screen before.

I enjoy all that too. But for me the biggest interest in the show is not the dress Joan is wearing today (they are all great, yes), not the plot twists, and not all those secrets and mysteries about Don.

For me it is the industry part of it.

I’ve never worked in advertising but having B2B experience, I can relate to the Man Men world. It is an universe in itself, but the show makes you feel a part of it.

Watching the show, you can feel the atmosphere in the office when things are good and when things are bad. You are like a fly on the wall in that meeting room where the team is pitching to an important prospect, and it is go big or go home. You can feel the joy of winning a client and the disappointment of losing a big account.

It is you, not Peggy who is walking down the hallway and makes that secret happy jump after her first ever copy was praised; it is you, not Pete who is working hard on getting a client in for a meeting but losing it when he thinks he got it; it is you not Don who is thinking what to say to save the day. You’ve been there – you can relate.

Man Men is not a fairy tale. Not every prospect and not every idea goes through. Like in real life, and that’s why make believe works here, and that’s what makes the show really great.

Leave a Reply

